Confessions of a Wannabe Vegan

Posted: October 3, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Cowspiracy

The documentary, Cowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret (2014), hurt me. I mean it really hurt me – in the gut – where it matters. I hate documentaries that make so much sense I feel the need to change my life. OK, maybe I don’t HATE this documentary. Maybe it was one of the best documentaries I’ve ever seen.

Because it made me think. And because it made me examine my life. Ever since the time in the late 80s when I tried to serve duck to my kids and my youngest daughter, who was 4 at the time, asked, “You want me to eat a little duck?” I’ve been haunted by eating meat and poultry.

But I kept eating it. Why? Because I wanted to eat, and I had always learned that meat was protein and that protein was necessary for a healthy lifestyle. Plus (you can’t see me right now, but I’m hanging my head in shame) I love BBQ chicken.

I tried – I really tried to eat tofu, because I’d read online that if you cooked tofu a certain way, it would taste like chicken. Not only did it not taste like chicken, it did not have anywhere near the consistency of chicken – well, unless you’re talking about rubber chickens.

Still all these years have gone by and I still want to change – not only because I believe that becoming a vegan – or at least a vegetarian – would be the right thing to do, but also because of all my health issues. Maybe if I’d been eating the right foods all along, I’d have never had asthma or allergies or arthritis or cancer.

So I’ve been researching alternatives to meat, and I came across a blog that mentioned eating nuts as a substitute. It recommended soaking the nuts for at least 2-8 hours and then placing them in a food processor. Well, I didn’t want to spend $8 on a can or bag of nuts, so I found some nuts at Dollar General and paid $4 for them, thinking that if I didn’t like the results, a $4 loss was better than an $8 loss.

In my cabinet I already had taco seasoning. In my refrigerator I had taco shells. Why not give meatless tacos a try! So I soaked the mixed nuts for several hours, threw them in the food processor, placed them on a warmed taco shell, covered them with lettuce and salsa, and, because I can’t become a vegan so quickly, I added cheese and sour cream, and you know what? I liked it better than meat tacos! Really! I loved the crunch AND the taste! Though the website recommended macadamia nuts or another type of nut (can’t remember now what kind), I decided to try the mixture, because the macadamias were too expensive.

After using the nut mixture for the tacos, since I had some left over, I thought I’d try using it in spaghetti sauce. Yum again! Hmm, maybe this vegetarian lifestyle is attainable after all!

You should know something about me before you say, oh, what a martyr she is, giving up meat! To be honest, I’ve never been fond of beef. I love(d) the taste of chicken, but I can’t chew beef well, so I usually avoid eating it anyway, unless I’m at someone’s house and that’s all they have. But now I can’t wait to try new dishes that don’t involve meat.

One drawback to the nut mixture is that I’m allergic to peanuts, but not highly allergic to them. I can still eat them without experiencing an asthma or allergy attack, so maybe now that I know I like the crunchy texture, I’ll give other nuts a try.

Now if only I can figure out a way to make some kind of vegetable taste like and have the consistency of BBQ chicken! Can anybody help?

By the way, Netflix is currently running Cowspiracy. I highly recommend that you watch the documentary, but be prepared to learn something you might never have known, and be prepared to feel – minimally, at least – guilty for contributing to the future death of our planet. Yes, anyone with a working brain will understand the common sense facts and figures spelled out in this documentary, and you’ll never look at meat the same way.

For more information about Cowspiracy, please see the following sources:

Facts on Cowspiracy: Rosenlake

How to eat foods that contain no meat: Less Meat More Plants; Beyond Meat

Comments
  1. Never will I give up meat. I love beef, lamb and pork. In fact, I even like chicken if it’s cooked right, but a diet of only vegetables for the rest of my life – no.

    • theresawiza says:

      That’s what makes us all human – our right to choose. I think if you watched the documentary, you might think differently. I just remember a comment I heard that went something like this, “If you truly love animals, you won’t eat them.” Those words won’t leave my head.

Leave a Reply

