98% OFF!

Posted: June 26, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Who wouldn’t want to take advantage of THAT kind of sale! WOW! When I saw “98% OFF!” on a recent advertisement, I admit I was intrigued. And to think I could get a “more radiant complexion” by using the product, well, something would have to be horribly wrong with me if I didn’t purchase the product that promised to “fight visible signs of aging,” wouldn’t it?

So what is this mystery product? It’s a 24K Gold Facial Mask by Brilliance New York. And it retails for a whopping $3999! With that steep price tag, I just had to look at the promotion offered on The Doctors Deals. I figured that this very expensive facial mask, to be so expensive, had to last a lifetime.

But guess what? The “deal” includes only a 12-pack of the 24K gold facial masks. So what if you buy this product and you like it? Even if you use it only once a month, at the end of the year, you would get charged FOUR THOUSAND DOLLARS to use this product again, unless, of course, you got another great deal of 98% off! Really?

Beware of “free” trials. I don’t know why that thought suddenly popped into my head, because, to be honest, I don’t know if this product falls into the category of free trial offers, but be warned anyway.

You can’t see me right now, but I’m shaking my head at the ludicrous idea of spending $4,000 on a product I can use only twelve times. I find the whole 98% off deal utterly ridiculous. Why? Because advertising has become such a scam!

When the world wasn’t so greedy, or at least when we didn’t realize it was so greedy, product manufacturers would figure out how much it cost them to make a product. They would factor in twice the cost of materials and labor, so they would have enough money to produce more product, and then they would double the cost so they could sell it for a profit.

Today something that costs 20 cents to make might sell for a couple of hundred dollars. When you add in the cost of advertising, you can understand why manufacturers have to drive up their price, but upping it by sometimes 1000%? GREEDY! GREEDY! GREEDY!

After figuring out my yearly cost for the facial mask, I told myself, “Uh uh! Sorry! NOTHING is worth that much money to me unless I can live in it or drive it. I’d rather own 3 oz. of gold (as of 6/26/15, the value of 1 Troy Ounce of Gold is $1,187.05) than place it on my face and then throw it away!”

I am going to seriously consider making my own moisturizers! I found some recipes at Natural and Healthy Living.com. What about you? Would you spend $4,000 to look visibly younger only 12 times?

Related Reading:

How Advertisers Grab You – Advertising Ploys 

Cyber Highway Robbery 

CONSUMER FRAUD ALERT: “As Seen on Oprah” is NOT Oprah Endorsed – Cyber Highway Robbery

And for the comedic side of advertising: How Illinoisans Advertise on TV

Leave a Reply

