The Secret I Can Finally Share

Posted: May 22, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

A month and a half ago, I found another lump. You might think that after my breast cancer experience in 2009, I would be more vigilant about checking for lumps, but because of the scar tissue that developed after my lumpectomy, I can no longer tell if I have a new lump or not.

But something unusual has been happening in my breast and I told myself to just be patient (not a skill I’ve ever successfully learned). I had already scheduled an appointment with my oncologist, and had only a month and a half to wait. Knowing what I went through before with breast cancer, I envisioned all kinds of repercussions if this turned out to be breast cancer again. I already gave an entire year of my life to surgery, chemo, and radiation and I’m still taking a chemo pill to prevent another episode of this type of cancer due to its high recurrence rate.

For the past month and a half, I could think of almost nothing else. I didn’t want to tell anybody, though, because if it turned out to be what my oncologist told me it was last November (scar tissue), I didn’t want to frighten anyone. So I allowed the distractions of life to blanket me with a kind of comfort while I awaited my appointment.

Yesterday I saw my oncologist, who assured me that what I was feeling was nothing more than lymphedema. She explained that after a lumpectomy, lymph pools in the area beneath your breast, so what I was feeling was not cancer or anything close to cancer – it was lymph.

Except for a low WBC count (typical for people taking chemo pills), and a high glucose count (I’ll need to better monitor my sugar intake), everything was within normal range. My yearly mammogram comes next month, and I’m assured that it will show only fluid retention from the lymph situation.

So now I can relax. I don’t have to worry about what I’ll do again, because “again” doesn’t exist! What a relief!

Comments
  1. Coral says:

    A few months ago, I had my mammogram. It had been two and a half years since my last. Of course, I know that is foolish, but I was going to die from this cancer soon anyway. LOL I was afraid of the results. They were fine. Those of us who have lived through that diagnosis and/or treatment, from what others have also shared, never get over that “when the ball drops again” moments of anticipation. I know that when I was waiting for the initial results from the radiologist in the waiting room, before I got called back in, I already had prepared myself for the “when,” not the “what if.”

    I am so pleased to hear that things are normal and that you are good to go. *hugs* and much love to you Ms. T. ❤

    • theresawiza says:

      I”m so glad your results were good, too, Coral. After your “ball drops” comment, I began to think about all those moments in my life when I found myself holding my breath. Maybe that’s what contributed to my asthma. ❤

      • Coral says:

        It certainly contributes to my anxiety about things, which I’m sure causes other things. LOL I guess that makes us both a “hot mess” in some ways. At least, in the ball-dropping, fretting, breath-holding moments. 😉

  2. Thank goodness…I would hate to think of you going thru all that again…now stop worrying!

  3. I’m so happy for you! I held my breath as I read your words. I’m so thankful you are okay. ❤

Leave a Reply

