How to Use Social Media to Solve Your Internet or Utility Problems

Posted: May 1, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Solve Internet Problems jpg

For the past six months I have been experiencing ongoing Internet problems. Sometimes my Internet has worked great; other times I felt as if I had been dropped into the 1990s when Internet was so slow you could make breakfast, eat breakfast, wash dishes, put on a load of laundry, and return to your computer, which was still completing a process you started before you began making breakfast, only to find it still trying to work.

For probably the tenth time since I moved in last October I called Frontier and complained – again. “I see you have been disconnected 176 times this past month!” the man on the other end of the line told me. I hadn’t been counting, but I wasn’t going to argue with the man. My internet was constantly shutting down on me.

When I lived in my former home, I had Comcast and I used to call Comcast every time my Internet wasn’t working (I called them often – I lived in that home from 2007-2014 and it took until a couple of months before I moved out before they finally fixed the problems). Though I wasn’t happy with Comcast service, somebody always arrived within a day or two. So you can imagine my surprise when I heard from Frontier, “We can get somebody to you by next Wednesday.”

What? I called this past Wednesday and I had to wait a whole week? After having gone through 6 months of nothing but chronic frustrations, I decided to vent to my “friends” on Facebook. When I typed the word, Frontier, in my message area, Frontier Communications popped up as a suggestion. Hmm. Why not tag them, I thought. And so I did.

What happened next could be a coincidence, though I doubt it considering Frontier never comes to my area except for on a Wednesday (at least that’s what Frontier told me when I registered my last complaint), but something interesting happened this morning (two days after I last called Frontier) – a repairman showed up at my door and offered to find out TODAY what was going on with my Internet. “I thought you couldn’t be here until next Wednesday,” I said, to which he responded, “I can come back.”

Oh, no, you can fix it now. And he did. Apparently all of the wires coming in to my rented duplex had been chewed (by what, I wonder) or destroyed, so Internet guy added a new wire and now my Internet works! I hope I don’t have to hear any more of the excuses I’ve been hearing over the past several months, “You live in a high volume area,” or “We’re doing work in your area,” as Frontier’s reasons for me not being able to get online or having to deal with ultra-slow Internet.

From now on, whenever I have a problem with any company at all, I’m voicing my complaint on Facebook and tagging the company!

By the way, Frontier Communications, thank you for solving the problem. It’s a shame it took a post on Facebook, though.

Leave a Reply

