Jim Carrey Eyes

Previously published on Yahoo Contributor Network April 9, 2012

Because I’ve been dreaming about Jim Carrey lately (actual dreams – links to them appear within this article), I decided to research the man I have been watching since 1994, when I first saw Jim Carrey in Ace Ventura: Pet Detective. I was unaware at the time that Carrey had been acting since 1981 and appearing as a stand-up comic since 1979.

Born the youngest of four children in Newmarket, Ontario, Canada on January 17, 1962, Jim Carrey has always been an entertaining force – even his teachers enjoyed his antics. So confident was he of his comedic abilities, he had the verve, even at the age of 10, to send a resumé to The Carol Burnett Show. Already Jim Carrey foresaw his destiny.

His outstanding range allowed him to portray a goofy dimwit in Dumb and Dumber and wow his audiences with a serious spot-on imitation of Andy Kaufman in Man on the Moon. He is fully capable of taking on any type of persona, from the evil uncle in Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, to a tortured soul in The Number 23, to a conscience-fighting father in Liar Liar, and even to God in Bruce Almighty. Carrey’s skills are without limit; he can imitate with great precision celebrities past and present and even play cartoon characters, like the Dr. Seuss Grinch in How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

While critics haven’t always been kind to Carrey over the years, he has won several awards, two of which were Best Actor Golden Globes for The Truman Show and Man on the Moon.

If you are a Jim Carrey fan, you probably already knew that information. Be assured, I am not writing his biography; I just wanted to provide some background – if you want to read his biography, you can peruse two legitimate biographical websites that are filled with Jim Carrey information:

Biography and Internet Movie Data Base (IMDB).

What you might not know about Jim Carry is that his multi-faceted talents extend beyond acting and stand-up comedy into other creative realms.

Let’s start with his interactive web site, JimCarrey.com. Jim Carrey’s personal web site is filled with so many entertaining graphics, you’ll feel as if you’re playing a video game just by entering it. Take a moment to drag your mouse around the page. Try to “capture” the photographer who appears to be trying to capture you. Imaginative, isn’t it?

Notice the face on the bird in the tree branch. What might those little tweets sprouting from the mouth of Jim Carrey be? Carrey’s Twitter feed, of course. https://twitter.com/JimCarrey

But I think what will surprise Jim Carrey fans the most is his artistic ability on canvas. The man truly is multi-talented. In his Palm Springs art gallery show entitled, Jim Carrey: Nothing To See Here, the Golden Globe-winning actor showcases his paintings and sculptures.

At least one of them, One Last Push, is revealed in black lighting and accompanies the music of John Mayer, who is one of Jim Carrey’s inspirations. (John Mayer also appears in a video with Jim Carrey as Carrey paints to the accompaniment of Mayer’s guitar playing. You can watch the video by clicking Jim Carrey Tru Life.)

In every new endeavor Jim Carrey attempts, he peels back layers of himself, revealing not only the creative side we’ve come to love, but also a vulnerable side the public sometimes doesn’t see. Curious about some of his paintings? Click Jim Carrey Gallery.

And if you are one of those individuals who finds coincidence exciting, you might want to read the dream, Jim Carrey Asks Me to Meet Him In The Church before you read the rest of this article. After I recorded that dream, I began my research of Jim Carrey. The first thing I discovered about him was that Jim Carrey had created a church, his own church, which he named, The Church of FFC (Freedom From Concern).

To be honest, I would love to be invited to join his church – with one modification – I would call the church FFW (Freedom From Worry). I don’t mind being concerned, but worrying, I’ve learned, is useless. The serendipitous part about that dream was that Jim Carrey invited me to a church before I found out that he had one.

If you care to read my other dream about Jim Carrey (unrelated to his extraordinary talents, although – I don’t know – maybe Jim Carrey gives good massages too), you’ll find it here: Jim Carrey’s Massage.

Wherever the links in this article lead you, don’t forget to visit Jim Carrey and Jim Carrey Tru Life for a look into one creative individual who is becoming more and more artistic by the decade.

“I’ve arrived at the place if I’m not taking a career risk, I’m not happy. If I’m scared, then I know I’m being challenged.” Jim Carrey

Comments
  1. Coral says:

    I was introduced to Carrey watching “In Living Color.” He is one of the wackiest comics I’ve ever seen. I did not like the “Fire Chief” bit, but I did see the comedic genius in it.

Leave a Reply

