Bone Cancer and the Plight of a Child

Posted: January 4, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Cancer – what happens when you hear the word? Do you recoil in fear? What if you just learned that YOU had cancer? I remember exactly where I was the day I heard that I had cancer. I was standing in the kitchen of my former home talking on the phone to my oncologist who called with the results of my biopsy. She got right to the point. “I have some news and it’s not good. The pathology report shows that you have breast cancer.” The words stunned me momentarily because I knew my whole life was about to change in ways I couldn’t foresee.

But I wasn’t afraid.

Jeremy at 11

Jeremy at 11

And then, just this past month, my oldest daughter gave me the results of her youngest son’s tests. How would you feel if you learned that a LOVED ONE had cancer? I learned that my grandson has bone cancer. All I kept thinking was, not only what my grandson was experiencing, because he’s only 13 years old and he has no idea what’s in store for him, but what my daughter had to be feeling, too. I could handle my own cancer, but I would have a hard time hearing that my child or grandchild had cancer.

Her words propelled me somehow. Living so far away from my daughter and grandson, I couldn’t just run over to their house to offer support, so I decided to open a fund for my grandson to help his mother with expenses. I was lucky with my cancer. I lived 5 minutes from the hospital. My daughter lived 2 hours away from my grandson’s hospital.

Numerous test results point to Ewing Sarcoma, a rare bone cancer affecting approximately 3 people per million. Jeremy’s tumor is quite large, probably 4 inches long by about 2.5 inches wide, and is located beneath his left knee on the inside of his leg.

Every day I hear of another child who is stricken with some form of cancer and every day my heart goes out to the families who are dealing with this devastating diagnosis. And now my family is, once again, affected by cancer. My grandson has a difficult road ahead of him and I ask that you please keep him and our family in your thoughts and prayers.

If any of you would like to donate, I’ve set up a GoFundMe account for him, which you can access by clicking the link.

Comments
  1. Coral says:

    Such a tough thing/topic, but you have sparked my thinking process and am jotting down some ideas. Yes, jotting. I have missed actually writing.

    My best to your grandson. I will look forward to reading good news and will do what I can with the GFM, but it will be in a month or so.

Leave a Reply

