Hearing Crickets

Posted: January 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

On a beautiful afternoon in January, the temperatures reached an astounding 55 degrees. My 4-year-old grandson, Zac, and I had just returned from visiting his mom when we pulled into the driveway and headed toward the house.

Zac decided he wanted to get the mail and promptly dropped it all in a pile of leaves. As we bent down to pick up the dropped mail, we heard crickets.

“Did you hear that?” I asked him.

“Yeah,” he said peering into the leaves. “What is it?”

“Sounds like crickets,” I said as I bent over. I kicked aside some of the leaves, and bent over again while Zac leaned on his knees and searched.

The sound stopped when we kicked some more of the leaves, so we went into the house. I put my phone on the couch and noticed I had a missed call. That’s when I remembered that the tone I chose for my oldest daughter, because she lived in the country, was the sound of crickets.

Thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

