Positive Thinking Prevents Asthma Attack

Posted: December 20, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

After suffering from asthma for most of my life, I’ve come to believe that thoughts, emotions, and actions play a significant role in determining the outcome of my attacks. I’ve also learned that once I get a cold, stopping it immediately is imperative, because it quickly becomes an infection and races to my lungs faster than a speeding bullet.

A couple of months ago, during my last asthma attack, I asked my doctor to give me a refill on the only medicine, other than my breathing treatments, that helps me in the early stages of a cold (the Z-pack ) because it prevents infections from spreading. I had never before asked for a refill, but I had the foresight to know I would probably be getting a cold again sometime in the future, and having a prescription on hand would alleviate my fears of having to drive myself to the ER. If I can’t immediately care for the cold, the cold will settle in my lungs, become a raging infection, and cause my breathing to suffer.

It didn’t used to be this way. The second a cold entered my system, I would bring out my arsenal of weapons, everything from echinacea and Vitamin C to teas, juices, and soups. I made sure I got plenty of rest and I took very good care of myself. After a couple of days, I felt better.

But lately colds travel to my lungs so quickly I have no time to prepare for them, so having something on hand to attack the cold is my only way to prevent myself from landing in the hospital. I now have to rely upon breathing treatments several times a day as well.

This past Saturday I came down with a cold. Normally, I would have to wait until Monday morning to ask the doctor to fill my prescription and, despite begging the receptionist to please get my message to him right away, he wouldn’t return my call until late Monday evening. By that time three days would have gone by and I would have been so ill, I might have had to be hospitalized.

But this week – thanks to my foresight, I had my Z-pack waiting for me. And so I put on my “I’m sick and have to rest” nursing uniform (PJs and a robe), and I made sure to get lots of rest, drink lots of fluids, take my breathing treatments, and think positive thoughts.

But nursing myself back to health using those methods is not the only thing that expedites my getting well – I also give myself a time limit (setting goals is important) – for some very good reasons:

Wednesday night (tomorrow, YIKES!) three of my grandchildren will be spending the night, followed by visits from five more grandchildren and two daughters the following day, followed by five grandchildren spending Thursday night in my home, three grandchildren spending Friday night, and 11 people celebrating Christmas Eve with me.

Words from Norman Vincent Peale’s, “The Power of Positive Thinking” (which I read three times, by the way) plays in my ears. I WILL get better – or maybe I should say I will myself to get better. Either way, by Wednesday, I WILL be better! I have no other option.

For all of you celebrating religious holidays during the month of December, I would like to add:

Merry Christmas!

Happy Hanukkah!

Merry Kwanzaa!

Happy Winter Solstice!

Merry Dar of Ashura!

Happy Bodhi Day!

(Did I miss anybody?)

http://www.blueskyscrubs.com/categories/Scrubs/Scrubs-for-Women/

Comments
  1. […] dog has asthma attacks what can I do to help herHealth and Fitness ArticlesPositive Thinking Prevents Asthma Attack #header { background: url(http://ublogspot.com/wp-content/themes/hmtpro5/images/header-bg.png); } […]

Leave a Reply

