Magical Thinking and The Money Tree

Posted: June 27, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Several weeks ago I joined the Group Blogging Experience (GBE2). Each week, our moderator (or one of the participants), suggests a topic for us to write about. This week, rather than a topic, we were given a graphic, the money tree you see in this blog.

The question, “You think money grows on trees?” was the first thought that entered my mind when I saw the GBE2 prompt, because my dad often asked that question.

“You think money grows on trees?”

Yes, Dad, I do. Or at least in my magical thinking I thought it was possible. He insisted that money didn’t and couldn’t grow on trees, but I knew he had to be wrong. In my imagination, anything was possible.

To prove him wrong, because I felt it was my mission in life to prove everybody wrong, I planted some change in the back yard. I couldn’t wait for my money tree to grow and to prove to my dad how wrong he was.

Every day, I looked out the back window expecting to see a fortune emerge from the ground. Like Jack in the Beanstalk, I fully expected to awaken one morning, look out my back window, and see a magnificent money tree that reached to Heaven.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t remember exactly where I planted the change, so the following week, I planted more and placed a stick in the spot where my tree would grow. I hadn’t given any thought to what might happen to the stick when my father mowed the lawn, so I spent an inordinate amount of time searching for money seeds hoping for signs of growth.

Three times I planted change in the back yard and waited for the magic and the miracle that never occurred. Six decades later, I still wonder from time to time if the owners of my childhood home ever discovered all the change in their back yard. Or if, through some mystical cosmic joke, they (instead of I) became wealthy.

“You need money to make money” plays in my head. I’ve never had more than change, so I still await the day I actually have MONEY so I can make more MONEY while I imagine myself plucking a dollar here and there from my imaginary money tree.

I remember reading that Jim Carrey said he once wrote himself a check for a million dollars before he became famous. I wrote mine out for one trillion dollars (I wonder if perhaps I was being a little too positive). Jim Carrey’s dream came true. I still don’t even have a bank account.

But – I imagine making a living from writing blogs, articles, screenplays, and poems. In my mind my money tree flourishes and every time I plant a seed (a word), it grows.

I also hear the words, “you reap what you sow” and I know that just the act of planting those coin seeds in my back yard when I was a young girl set the stage for the reaping to occur. Every time I plant a word in a sentence, every time I post a blog or an article, I get closer to yielding a crop of readers who will enjoy my posts and return for more.

The thought has occurred to me that my readership might not develop until after I die. Many people are not acknowledged during their lifetimes. I can live with that (post smiley face here).

Postmortem isn’t so bad. Who knows? Maybe by then science will have discovered a way to make money grow on trees.

This post was written as part of a new Group Blogging Experience (or GBE), previously begun by a woman named Alicia. Today Beth continues the experience for bloggers to associate with one another, support each other’s blogging experience, and hopefully expand their readership by providing a network for bloggers.

Want to participate? Go to the new GBE 2 on Facebook (click the link) and join the fun!

If you would like to read more from this author, click any of the following links:

All Craft Connection

Your Weird Dreams
Your Blog Connection
Help For Single Parents
My Heart Blogs To You
Writing Creatively
Paranormal Minds
Product Favorites
Theresa Wiza’s Blog
My Associated Content Articles
My Xomba Articles 

Thank you for visiting!

Comments
  1. Not only are your words seeds for growth, but, even more importantly, so are your thoughts! Focusing on lack and limits and unworthiness will never achieve prosperity, but focus on ideas and growth and ways to help others will cause one to “reap what they sow”. Good article.

  2. Langley says:

    This is super! I love this: Every time I plant a seed (a word), it grows.

  3. Spark says:

    “In my mind my money tree flourishes and every time I plant a seed (a word), it grows.”
    Loved this !!

  4. linda schulman says:

    This was a very nice story! I really love the analogy of planting a seed with every word you write. Nice!

  5. Jenn says:

    I love the analogy of sowing seeds of words to bring about a crop of readers. This is a great post!! Cheers, Jenn.

  6. Marian Griffin says:

    This reminds me of what I learned through The Secret in that putting it out there makes it happen! God is in the details so write yourself a big one!

    Lovely blog!

  7. stephanie says:

    Very nice! I hope you get your wish too 🙂

  8. Doc says:

    yup…..love magical thinking……..and knowing … YOU KNOW about the law of replication; scattering the seeds,,,,,,hopefully on FERTILE GROUND. Love on my friend., WRITE ON!!!!!! sometimes we never see the harvest……..but RiGHT on,,,,,,,,grow on : )

  9. djs617 says:

    I think that’s sweet. I hope you get your wish.

    –Diana Jillian

  10. Lovely post. I always wanted to prove to my parents that they were wrong…:) , but discovered they were most of the time right…

  11. pam quigley says:

    I think you definitely need to drive by your old home just in case. Anyway I love your dreams and I know they’ll happen. Now write me a check for a trillion dollars in case they do.
    Pam

  12. Jo Heroux says:

    Reaping what you sow…I really like that thinking. It is so true in all aspects of our lives, isn’t it? We probably all want more money, but most of us know that in order to get the really big bucks we would have to sacrifice so much time and energy that we would lose all the important things in the process. I know I could make a lot of money, but I am satisfied with being able to pay the bills I have to for necessities. Great blog.

  13. Beth says:

    “Every time I plant a word in a sentence, every time I post a blog or an article, I get closer to yielding a crop of readers who will enjoy my posts and return for more.”

    I think you are doing just that!

  14. MoC says:

    Great idea as a child, how come we always come up with such amazing thoughts?! And yes, it would be great to have a money tree, but what then?

Leave a Reply

