Transforming a Slut

Posted: May 31, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Her name was Chris. She had long blonde hair which she teased until the top of her head scraped the doorways when she entered a room. She wore tight clothing, high heels, and tons of makeup. She was 14 years old.

When she sat down in the desk one seat up and one row to my left, she pulled from her purse an assortment of items. She placed the compact on her purse and took her brush to her hair, teasing, teasing, teasing. She then pulled the hair from her brush and placed it on the floor under her desk.

Then she added more lipstick to her already lipsticked lips and added more powder to her face and, surprisingly, to her hair. She then replaced all of the items in her purse and grabbed a stack of index cards. On it were written her name, her phone number, and her measurements, 36-24-36.

As a freshman who had never seen the likes of Chris before, I sat transfixed in wonder. I couldn’t even wear lipstick and she had a face full of every imaginable kind of makeup. I thought hair was supposed to be shiny, and she was powdering hers.

I also had no clue why she would fill out index cards with such personal information. And then, for the first time in my life, I heard the word, slut. I still had no idea what that meant, but it sounded derogatory.

Another friend of mine, Kathie, decided to make it her mission to transform the slut (she had no idea what it meant either), so we cornered Chris in the bathroom. Apparently the act of cornering somebody was supposed to have transformative powers. We wanted her to be a good girl, and we teamed up together to befriend the slut and to turn her life around. We failed.

What we didn’t know at the time was that her father had been sexually abusing her. By the time I was mature enough to understand the meaning of the word, I had also figured out that Chris, like so many other victims of abuse, coped in the only way she knew how. She became a “slut,” because experience prepared her for that kind of life.

Now, when I hear the word, I have only compassion for women who are willing to demean themselves in such a manner. I hope Chris was able to turn her life around and find somebody to love her for who she truly was and I hope she was able to figure out who she truly was, even after her father damaged her fragile soul at such a young age.

If you would like to read more from this author, click any of the following links:

All Craft Connection

Your Weird Dreams

Your Blog Connection

Help For Single Parents


My Heart Blogs To You 


Writing Creatively


Paranormal Minds

Product Favorites

Theresa Wiza’s Blog 


My Associated Content Articles

My Xomba Articles 

 

Thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

