The Day I Became A Celebrity

Posted: February 14, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

In my blog about Jim Carrey and Jenny McCarthy (click the link to read it), I refer to numerous comments people made at the end of the article I had read about their breakup. After I wrote my blog and thought about how difficult being a celebrity must be, I wondered what would happen if I were a celebrity. What would I have to give up? What would I have to gain?

Would I even WANT to be a celebrity?

These questions became points to ponder, but I first had to wonder – what could I possibly do to garner the attention of enough people in order for them to consider ME to be a celebrity?

Well, I could become the most sought-after blogger ever. But that would mean that everybody would have to be as much in love with my family and friends as I am.

Then again, maybe one of my articles would be found by someone who was so stricken with awe after reading the article that I would be asked to appear on television.

Still, would a one-time appearance on television make a celebrity out of me? Probably not.

But what about a screenplay I wrote? What if one of my screenplays made it to the silver screen and I found myself at the Golden Globes, the Screen Actors Guild Awards, or (gasp) The Academy Awards! Why, I could win an Oscar!

But again, would I really want the attention?

And then I remembered the day when I really was popular. People were honking at me as I drove along. I did look pretty good that day, if I remember correctly.

At first, I thought, “Are they really honking at me? Do I look that good?”

And then I thanked God for all the attention I was getting. Feeling like a celebrity felt GREAT. Because of all of the traffic, I had gone only a block at a snail’s pace, but people everywhere were honking and pointing. I smiled and waved.

Then, as I sat at a never-ending stop light, a man driving in the opposite direction actually stopped his car and motioned for me to roll down my window. I reasoned that any celebrity would do that for her fan. So I rolled down my window to hear, “You have a gallon of milk sitting on top of your car.”

OK, so my celebrity was short-lived, but I’ve decided I could handle being famous. Bring it on.

If you would like to read more from this author, please see the sidebar and THANK YOU for visiting!

Comments
  1. Jenn says:

    I’m not sure I would want to be a celebrity–but I had to chuckle at that gallon of milk on top of your car–if I could count all the things I drove away with 😀 Great post!!

    • theresawiza says:

      Thank you for your comment, Jenn. I’ve driven away with more than a gallon of milk on my car unfortunately. I wish somebody had stopped me the day I drove away with all my trip money in the wallet I left on my car. Hundreds of dollars. It might have been the most stupid things I’ve ever done.

  2. Paula Martin says:

    Well, at least you enjoyed your 15 minutes of fame 🙂

  3. I think we all need a little attention and recognition from time to time., as long as we are not to preoccupied by fame and use it for the good. Thanks for sharing, Theresa!

  4. Linda Johnson says:

    You’ll always be a celebrity to me.

Leave a Reply

