Nail Polish Traps Children

Posted: January 11, 2010 in 1

OK, I have to admit right up front, that I was not the kind of mom who spent hours grooming her children. Not that those things didn’t matter to me – they did – but I was not especially good with things like hair and nails. Cleanliness was of utmost importance to me, but it required no skills, so I was very good at keeping my kids clean, but very not good at fixing their hair.

It was not for lack of trying that I failed to succeed in fixing my girls’ hair. I tried hair dryers, curling irons, and curlers, but I couldn’t manipulate them well. I once tried braiding the hair on one of my girls, but knotted the hair in my fingers so tightly, I almost had to cut the hair out of my hand.

Because of my inability to fix hair and nails, on those rare occasions when the girls did get their nails done, it was a big deal. A really big deal.

Let me digress for a moment. Lindsey was three and Greg was two. They played together very well except when Lindsey wanted Greg to play “Dad.” Greg usually refused and jumped on all fours barking.

“Make him stop!” Lindsey would scream, and I would have to tell her that if Greg wanted to be a dog instead of a dad, he could choose that option.

So one morning when they were being particularly quiet, I suspected something might have gone a little awry. They had snuck into their oldest sister’s bedroom and locked the door behind them.

I didn’t know they knew how to lock the door, so I was surprised they were able to do it.

“Lindsey, unlock the door, ” I commanded from the hallway.

“I don’t know how.”

“See that circular latch under the door knob?”

“Yes.”

“Turn it.”

“I can’t.”

“Yes, you can. Just turn it.”

“No, I can’t.”

The conversation kept going like that for quite a while until I decided that perhaps it was an issue with self-esteem. Maybe she really thought she couldn’t turn the latch. So I rushed in with a pep talk – you can do it!

“No, I can’t.”

At this point I was becoming frustrated. After all, they were in their fifteen-year old sister’s bedroom. No telling what they’d find in there. And Keeley would be (I’ll call it) UPSET when she found out her younger brother and sister were camping out in her room for an hour.

“Just put your thumb and your finger on the latch under the doorknob and TURN THE LATCH!”

“But I can’t!”

“WHY CAN’T YOU?”

“Because I’ll ruin my nail polish!”

Apparently three-year olds have no concept of “can’t” – because she was adamantly REFUSING to unlock the door.

“You won’t ruin your nail polish,” I promised.

“Yes, I will.”

Do you have any idea how frustrating it is to have an argument with a three-year old when a locked door sits between you?

“I promise I will put more nail polish on you IF you ruin your nail polish.”

The thought of having me apply nail polish was probably more than she could bear. She knew I “sucked” at polish application. Whoever put the polish on her nails was far more adept at prettying her up than I could ever be. She wasn’t about to ruin something that might take months for somebody else to fix.

Eventually, after trying to negotiate an impossible settlement with my three-year old daughter, while her trapped two-year old brother awaited his escape, I had to call her grandfather over to remove the door so I could get the kids out.

Comments
  1. AlienVisitor says:

    LOL, this was a very good read I like paranormal usually, that’s how I found your posts, but I found this quite entertaining, your writing is great. You really know how to get the reader involved in the story. My writing skills suck but I have a ton of useless information in my head that i must get out, lol. My grammar stinks but I am working on it, my problem is I like to write and I have a very active imagination but i hated grammar in school and now its come back to haunt me. Anywho im blabbering on here, sorry, but you got a new crazy fan out of it.

  2. Lindsey says:

    I think I vaguely remember this. LOL!

Leave a Reply

