On The Good Ship Lollipop – Shoo Fly Don’t Bother Me

Posted: December 9, 2009 in 1
Tags: , ,

Woke up with this morning not quite myself. I wasn’t anybody else either, I was just a little “off” – could be the chemo affecting my brain cells , though – on their way to the death pile, they play silly songs in my head.

But really? I have to hear this when I wake up?

Shoo fly, don’t bother me.

Shoo fly, don’t bother me.

Shoo fly, don’t bother me.

Cause I belong to somebody.

What is so weird about that song, aside from the fact that it is a weird song, is that I don’t belong to anybody. Never have. Thought I did a couple of times to the men I married, but no – NOBODY owns ME!

But that’s another blog. This one is about stupid songs that rattle my brain and keep playing themselves over and over and over again without any thought whatsoever to how annoying they are to me.

You would think I would let it go, but no, I had to RESEARCH the silly song. Imagine that – researching a song that found its way onto an album by The Persuasions entitled, On the Good Ship Lollipop.

Maybe the whole point of the song was to remind me of a time in grammar school when a very dear friend of mine had to mount the stage and sing:

On the goo-ooo-ood ship Lollipop

It’s a sweet trip to a candy shop

Where bonbons play

On the sunny beach of Peppermint Bay.

Who writes that stuff? (Music was written by R. Whiting and words were written by S. Clare.)

In all honesty, Kathie looked like Shirley Temple, all cute, dimples and everything, singing up there on the stage, singing her little heart out. And I thought how courageous it was of her to sing in front of all her fellow students. I wouldn’t have had the nerve to do it. Then again, I didn’t have the voice to sing, and nobody would have been foolish enough to ask me to sing, but that’s beside the point.

What is the point? Oh, yeah, silly songs that rouse you from sleep to annoy you all day. Was I dreaming of flies? Or maybe belonging to somebody? Hey, I just had a thought! Maybe the fly is actually a symbol for cancer! And I want it to know that it doesn’t HAVE me. I do belong to people, lots of people, who love and care about me.

So I think I’ll take a sweet trip to a candy shop, then romp on over to Peppermint Bay (where is that exactly*) and shoo this annoying fly away.

*You know I had to research that too, right? But to be honest, I didn’t feel like sifting through the 291,000 results Google offered me when I plugged “Peppermint Bay” into their search engine.

Comments
  1. Me says:

    Happy to hear you are using the “shoo fly don’t bother me” to represent the cancer. Am praying that after this is over, it will never bother you again.

  2. Well, now you’ve done it. I’ll be singing both Shoo Fly and Good Ship for the rest of my life. The only redeeming thing here is that the songs will replace my current obsession with the Wizard of Oz’s scarecrow singing If I Only Had a Brain. (As your punishment, you are now required to add this to your repertoire.)

Leave a Reply

