My Blogger Blogs

Posted: August 26, 2009 in 1

Because of all my Blogger blogs, I tend to forget I have this one – OK the reason I tend to forget this one has nothing at all to do with the fact that I have four other blogs on Blogger, and more to do with the fact that I have the attention span of a toddler. I get sidetracked. A lot.

And I get lost – on streets, in my head. But not often. Well, maybe often. Do you remember the scene in The Family Man with Nicolas Cage and Tea Leoni when Nicolas Cage’s character looks around and says, “This isn’t my house”?

I understand his pain. I stand at the front door, key in lock, twisting and turning, waiting to hear the magic click, but after all the scrambling inside the house, the only click I hear is that of a gun being held to my head because I’m at the wrong house. I hate when that happens. HERE I explain in more detail what I’m talking about. Oh, and I’m kidding about the gun.

But then of course there are those times when I’ve been driving around in circles (again – not on purpose) and I find myself heading in the wrong direction in endless one-way streets that take me further and further away from my destination, and suddenly (I REALLY hate when this happens) I’m not even on a road anymore.

It’s a wonder I EVER make it home. And if you suffer from the same problem, believe me, I empathize. You can read about my fun adventures HERE.

The reason all of this bothers me is because I will soon be flying out to California to watch three of my grandchildren. Fortunately I have a phone with a GPS tracking system (given to me by the parents of those three grandchildren), so if I have to drive them anywhere (please God don’t make me do that), at least I can figure out how to get them back and forth. I hope. I don’t know. I can’t drive and look at my phone at the same time. I can see myself calling my son one evening and saying, “Um, I was trying to get to the San Diego zoo, but I think I’m in Nebraska. I can’t be sure.”

Reminds me of the time my daughter called me crying because she was lost. Well, I asked her, what do you see? A bunch of trees, she told me. Thanks for narrowing it down for me. We talked for maybe twenty minutes before I finally said, just turn around and go back in the direction you came from. Keep driving until something looks familiar, and next time learn to throw cookie crumbs out the window as you drive.

I’m terrified of driving my grandchildren anywhere ALONE. Really, I am. I hope my son and his wife don’t read this, because they will be terrified too. I’ll probably end up taking my own advice and throw landmarks out of the car while I’m driving. So if you’re on 78 or 1 (I think those are San Diego’s highways), drive carefully. I may throw a boulder your way.

Thinking positively, though, I’m sure I’ll be fine. If not it will make for a very scary blog when I return in two weeks.

Leave a Reply

